Book Review: Her Frozen Cry by Carolyn Arnold

A book review from Bound 4 Escape: Her Frozen Cry by Carolyn Arnold!

About The Book

Her Frozen Cry
  • Title: Her Frozen Cry
  • Author Carolyn Arnold
  • Genre: Mystery, Thriller
  • Release Date: June 9th, 2022

Synopsis:

The moon shines through the open window, bathing the woman in pale light. Blood-red wine from a shattered glass soaks into the cream blanket beside her, and her dull eyes stare vacantly at the framed photograph in her hand.

When beautiful wife and mother Alicia Gordon is found dead in a remote woodland cabin, Detective Amanda Steele is shocked to discover that she knows the husband. Amanda hasn’t spoken to Tony since she lost the love of her own life seven years ago, and seeing tragedy tearing her old friend’s family apart brings back so many painful memories.

Alicia was alone when she died, but she was so young, and Amanda can’t help feeling suspicious. Then she discovers that Alicia’s sleep medication had been tampered with, slowly poisoning her over several days. Amanda wants to trust that the sorrow on Tony’s face is real, but the more she digs into his marriage, the more it seems that he had opportunity, and motive…

Interviewing one of Alicia’s old colleagues, Amanda is shaken to her core when the woman suddenly collapses in her arms, dying in seconds from a lethal dose of the same poison that killed Alicia. But what could link this woman to Tony?

With her partner blaming Amanda for not arresting Tony immediately, she needs to prove that he isn’t the killer, or accept that the second woman’s death could be on her hands. She’s running out of time and leads when she discovers threatening messages sent to both victims. It’s the final clue to unmasking the most twisted killer Amanda has ever come up against, and to stop them she’ll have to risk everything…

A heart-pounding crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

A Review: Her Frozen Cry

This book review of Her Frozen Cry was originally posted on Bound4Escape. Reposted with permission.

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy from the author. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

I have read all of the books in the Amanda Steele series. If you decide to read this series, don’t judge it on the first book, The Little Grave. After I read it, I wasn’t too sure how I’d like the series because that first book was more about Amanda’s grief than the mystery she was working on. I did try the next book, and she is dealing with her grief and has been able to move on – as much as you can move on from the loss of your family. She has become one of my favorite Carolyn Arnold characters.

Amanda and her partner, Trent, work well together and have gotten to know each other pretty well. Even though Amanda knows the husband of the victim in the current case they’re working on, she believes that she can be objective. Both Trent and their boss, Malone, decide to trust her judgment and although it’s difficult for her, she deals with it well.

I like how among all the drama that Amanda and Trent still follow procedure for the most part. There is a lot of drama, but the murder that they are investigating is still the main plot. It’s just not a good time for Amanda, Malone, Zoe, and especially Amanda’s former friend, Tony.

There are several suspects that Amanda and Trent need to investigate, and they even have two suspects in jail at the same time. Unfortunately, I figured out the killer quickly. I was hoping I was wrong, but I wasn’t

I definitely recommend Her Frozen Cry and although it stands on its own, you’ll get more out of the story if you read the whole series.

Carolyn Arnold Bio:

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from police procedurals, hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

About the Reviewer

Bound 4 Escape

Dawn

I started selling used books online in 1999 as sleepygirl2, and opened my first storefront, Sleepygirl’s Used Books, in 2003.  I enjoy my work and have wanted to start a blog for a while because I want to share my love for reading. I find a lot of interesting and funny things about books as I browse and this is the perfect place to share them. I also review books I read, which are often from authors or publishers, but I don’t receive any compensation for the reviews. Sometimes I come across an interesting book that I’ve purchased that I like to share on here as well.

https://bound4escape.com/

Share your love

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.